• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Momma rabbit nesting again??

Sanderee

New Kit
Hi :). I'm new here and I have a question about my doe. She is a 1yr old house bunny and she just had 3 kits one week ago today. She's been an excellent mom too :). Today she has started acting like she's trying to nest again. All of the sudden she's digging at the corners of her cage like crazy and carrying around hay and shredded paper. I checked babies and they are fine, but she keeps adding more covering over them, then they wiggle aroun like they don't want to be covered and she repeats the process. I guess she just seems uneasy or something. This is my first time to have a rabbit with babies so maybe this is normal? She's not always confined to her cage but was when I heard the obsessive digging going on, so I opened the doors to let her roam around a bit. She scratched up a bunch of paper towels I put down thinking she just needed to expel some energy but now she's back in her cage acting restless again. She was only with our buck one time and I was there watching the whole time so she was only bred once and she has not been exposed to him again. Thanks for you're help!

*Sorry I just realized I posted in the wrong place. I'll try to move it.

Last edited:
I don't know why she is behaving this way, she obviously has her reasons. Are you giving her lots of green veg or grass, this is what they crave most when they have babies. This is if she is already used to eating greens of course. Dandelion leaves also will be appreciated. Make sure to wash the veg. Has she got some privacy and there are no predators around to frighten her? Hope she is ok.