• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

House Rabbit Novice: Advice needed!

Tammie

New Kit
Hi Guys

Just wanted to state first that I am no novice to rabbit ownership, however when I move into a very large studio late august I want to adopt and go for the house rabbit option..

Adoption:
Firstly I want to help all those centres overrun with neglected bunnies and give one of them a home....could anyone recommend anywhere in london I can go to...As much as I adore babies, rabbits real behaviour doesn't seem to shine through till they mature so i'm more than happy to get a slightly older neutered one..

Housing options:

(1) I will be at work during the day once they settle in
(2) Hard Floors (no carpets)

Living in a studio with a small separate kitchen and bathroom, ideally I'm not particularly keen on keeping them in a large cage or big puppy pen...

I want my bunny to feel as little like a caged animal as possible.

At the same time I want to make sure a area feels to them like there's, and there happy to litter trained in...

Knowing how much they hate hard floors, If I got a washable rug for a area of the room, where a comfy litter tray filled with hay..favourite toys, food etc was...would this (a) work well for toilet training (b) won't appear like punishment to him/her when I need to block off the area to go out or sleep...

I did think of using the kitchen as a enclosure..but it's not big enough really for toilet training, without disturbing (him/her). unless you think this is good for when I go out..

Rabbit Breed/size most suitable for studio?:

Any tips from Dwarf to Flemish giant more suitable for a studio home..

Help....!!! Please tell me if you think caged is best...or anyone other suggestions..

Last edited:
Hello and welcome to the forum :D