• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Newbie here: wondering, should I get 2 rescue rabbits

Hello. Newbie here and I am in a quandary!

For several weeks I have been thinking about getting a couple of rescue rabbits after a possibility of fostering 2 fell through. I have owned rabbits before (when I was a teenager, many moons ago!) and understand about their needs etc. The rabbits are for me (a 40+ single female). I have several pets already, including 7 guinea pigs who live in an insulated shed. I also own 4 cats, 2 chinchillas and a Chinese hamster. I have a well-paid job so vet fees/other costs aren't an issue.

These are my thoughts/wonderings:
I have spent ages looking at hutches and runs online and looking at various rabbit websites. I would love to get an 8 foot hutch but not sure if the extra cost makes it's worth it. Plus it would be difficult for me to move around. I do have comfortable space for a 6ft hutch and 6x8ft run. They would also be able to have free range of the garden when I'm out there. I don't like animals being outside in the winter, so am thinking I would bring them indoors into the garage or conservatory (whichever happens to be warmer at the time). The garage isn't used for anything other than storage so there is no danger from car fumes. (I think trying to move an 8ft hutch through the doors would be impossible.

I am trying to be practical and level headed about this, but have made the mistake of looking at rescue sites and falling for a pair of buns. (from RSPCA: neutered, vaccinated, chipped)