• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Lion Head rabbits

Lord Trellis

Mama Doe
Today I have been helping somebody who rescued a very poorly kept, neglected looking lion head bunny.

When I saw the bunny its was in a total mess, it couldn't even lay down properly because it had huge lumps of hard poop on its butt, it must have been in some discomfort and I feel it might have some issues with its teeth.

I tried getting off what I could, some of the poop I had to cut off its fur because there was no other way of removing it, I gave the bunny a bath to attempt to remove the rest of the dried on poop from its butt and I got nearly all of it off .

It can sit and lay down a bit more comfortably now. I'm not experienced enough to trim teeth, I've had a look and they look like there is more going on with them so it possibly needs to see a vet at some point but its eating fine so not so urgent.

It needs a lot of grooming, The person asked me if it was ok to trim the bunnies fur... its a very friendly but scared bunny.

What is the best way to tidy up the appearance of a messy lion head bunny?

I would have thought a grooming brush of some kind would be enough?

Last edited:
I use a double sided metal dog comb for all my furries. My rabbits are always lionheads or crosses, usually VERY fluffy. They get groomed weekly with the fine toothed side. The wide toothed side is useful if the fur is thicker and a bit knotty to get it cleared, then switch to the fine side. If they are moulting, they will need grooming more often.