• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Hutch advice needed- is a 5FT double as good as/better than a 6FT single? & other Q's

lshimmin

New Kit
Hutch advice needed- is a 5FT double as good as/better than a 6FT single? & other Q's

I am new to the rabbit world and have a few questions. All advice much appreciated.

Q1- Re the minimum space of 6FT by 2FT -is a double 5FT even better? I would prefer a 2 story hutch.

Q2- I am really torn between (1) a double enclosed hutch or (2) one with an open run under/coming out of the side

E.G 1 - http://www.therabbithutchcompany.co...the-coach-house-6ft-rabbit-hutch/category/16/
OR
2- http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LARGE-12F...t=UK_Pet_Supplies_Poultry&hash=item3a8f672abd (note these are not my final choice just an idea)

I feel (in my human brain) an open run would feel like my two new babies will feel more 'outside' but do rabbits really notice the difference between wire and hutch as long as they have the space? On the other hand the double hutch would provide more space in the winter months when its cold.

Q3- Is it better to have a hutch with an open bottom on grass (for grazing) or is it better to have a 'sealed' bottom to prevent borrowing from both rabbit and predators?

Finally, after hours of searching, can anyone recommend a hutch that has both the minimum 6FT hutch area and a suitable attached run that either comes out of the side OR under (I can't have a run sticking out the front as my garden is long and narrow). It seems all the runs I have seen are under the hutch and provide very little head height etc. Or the run is 6FT but the hutch is tiny. My budget is £200 (is this realistic?)

Thanks for your advice. I bring home my babies in 2 weeks and really want to spoil them :D