• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Girl and Boy rabbits from the same litter.

LSAFD

New Kit
I was hoping to get 2 boy rabbits but now they are older she only has one boy rabbit and then all girls in the litter. But she will know for definite next week of genders.

How would I go about having a girl and a boy rabbit living together? They are from the same litter but I know they will both need neutering/spraying.

Thanks

Im no expert but as far as my very limited knowledge goes I think you would have to have them living separately until one or both are spayed/castrated and for 6 weeks after the operation then re-introduce. I think if you housed them together she would get pregnant before he had the snip

Also housing 2 boys together doesn't always work out.... they can tend to fight when they hit puberty.... would 2 girls work for you???

I recommend that you have any combination spayed/neutered. Years ago I had a male with cancer on one of his 'bits' and a female with an absolutely huge uterine cancer which went unnoticed until she suddenly became quite ill. Both survived but they each had surgery when they were older and/or not in optimal physical condition.

Mine are brother and sister. They lived together from the start, and got along fine, Toffee was snipped as soon as possible, and they got on fine afterwards. Treacle has since been spayed.

A male & female is often recommended as the best combination. All rabbits should be neutered, anyway, as you say, so that makes no difference. Are you in the UK?