• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Best/Safest Matting for Rabbits?

DavidJatt

New Kit
Hi Folks!

New member here! I found the forum searching on Google, but didn't quite find what I was after so thought I'd join and ask a question.

I'm new to rabbit owning, have kept budgies in an aviary for ages but as their numbers sadly decline, we're about to house a couple of bunnies in there and extend the living area for them. There are slabs on the floor at the moment (with wood chippings while we have the birds), so I'm thinking a rubber matting might be better and easier to keep clean when we pick up the bunnies.

So my question really is, can anyone recommend some suitable matting for around 5 square metres?
I've found this fine ribbed rubber matting (https://www.firstmats.co.uk/products/finerib-non-slip-rubber-matting) which seems cheap enough for a roll, but then I thought, is natural rubber safe for them? Will it hurt the rabbits if they chew it? Should the matting be smooth on the surface instead?

I've also found a few mats on Amazon, but they seem more like fabric.

Sorry for the newbie question, but would love to hear your experiences.

David

Some people use stable matting or interlocking play mats. I've got some of that rubber matting for a van but it could be difficult to keep clean with rabbit debris on it unless you can hose it down.

I would get some non-slip (bathroom / commercial) lino. Run it up the sides a couple of inches and use battens to fasten all the edges so they can't be chewed. Some rabbits really like to chew rubber and others will chew lino if they can get to an edge. You can always put eg the odd carpet squares down on top to provide a bit of extra grip for runnig around.