• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

I bite. D:

Bea08

New Kit
My rabbit bites a lot. It is a netherland dwarf. It is 2 years old. He bites all the time especially when out of his cage. Can anyone help me or give me advice on how to help him?
We're thinking of getting a girl rabbit too and we don't know if it will help.

I'm not really a professional rabbit person, as I only have one rabbit, but I can try and help. My rabbit has never bitten me, but he lunges at me and puts his ears back like he's going to bite. I think it is because he isn't neutered (he's getting neutered next week), so if your rabbit isn't neutered that would be a good thing to do. He has bitten my friends and my parents because they don't know how to be with him. He only does this stuff in his hutch part, not when he is running in his shed/play house (the hutch is inside the play house).

This is what I do to prevent him from biting me: I don't put my hand in front of him when he's in his hutch. When I want to take him inside or out into his run, I put my right hand over his ears/head/eyes and then scoop him up under his tummy with my other hand. If you do the first step right unless he is really persistent, in which case you have to be a little more firm with your grip, then I think he won't be able to bite. If I have time I could try and get some pictures explaining what I mean since it looks confusing. Let me know if this helps.

Is he neutered? He needs to be neutered for 6 weeks before being introduced to a girlie bun anyway, but hormones can often make a bun aggressive. This is probably the most common cause of aggression.

Does he only bite in his area? He may be territorial - often this can be reduced by neutering aswell - but some buns just are that way.