• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

First time bonding. Advice

Loulou8425

Warren Scout
So I'm completely new to bonding so I've read as much as I can to make the process as easy as possible. Lily is 1 and George is 5 months. They are both neutered and perfectly healthy. Vet was happy to begin the bonding as George has now healed after his op.

Both buns have been living side by side for a few weeks with no signs of aggression at all. I decided to give them an official bonding session this morning and used the bath for this as lily has pretty much been everywhere in the house and I felt I would cope better if things went wrong if they were in a smaller space. I put out a few towels in the bath and put George in first then lily next. There was a some grunting and thumping from lily and the odd nip. I was fully prepared to separate if needed.

After about 5mins there was no more thumping and George was moving towards lily and lowering his head. She still wanted to nip but not hard. It was more of a headbutt type thing. They both groomed in front of one another and were fine with being close however lily seemed on edge if George wanted to move about but not enough to attack. George wanted to snuggle and burried his head into lily. She was OK with this. I cross stroked them both and they lay down. Here's a few pics and vids. Can you give me opinions and how to proceed?

[video]http://s1200.photobucket.com/user/Hazel_Gee/media/20160116_112555_zpsswidvm00.mp4.html?sort=3&o=1[/video]

20160116_112153_zpsrhrwsiao.jpg

20160116_112204_zps2as732lg.jpg

Toward the end lily flopped next to him.

Screenshot_2016-01-16-13-37-30_zpsinorhga1.png

Screenshot_2016-01-16-13-36-14_zps5tv88rar.png

Last edited: