• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

suggestions and tips for 'bringing round' rescue rabbits? particularly biters!

Hi all,

I have been fostering a bonded pair of rescued rabbits for roughly 7 or 8 months now. I also have 10 buns of my own, so Im reasonably well versed in rabbit behaviour ;) Although every bun is different so despite having 10, I am still baffled when it comes to this problem as I havent experienced it with any of my others!

Acorn and Silver are the bonded foster pair. They are both neutered, this took place whilst they were still at the rescue. They have been with the rescue for 2 years now and have had no interest, despite being a very handsome pair. The female is a silver lionhead with a very interesting face, the male looks like he might be a lop mix. He is brownish and very cute. They were rescued from quite miserable circumstances: a tiny hutch (probably a 2 footer or 3 footer at most) where their heads touched the ceiling and they were crammed in with 5 other rabbits! They had been bought as entertainment for a young child, so had been treated like toys and not had a good time. The rescue stressed to me that they would need to be in a large shed as they get very stressed in closed surroundings, even a large hutch. So they have a nice big 9ft by 5ft shed at my place, which I've customised with mezzanine levels and tunnels and hides and so on. They were previously at another foster home where they were also well taken care of and had a big shed to live in.