• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Outdoor Bunnies keeping them clean and happy!!!

loz83

New Kit
Hi Everyone

this is my first time posting but just trying to help my mum keep her bunnies clean and happy as ever... it seems it isn't so easy!!

My mum bought my little sister her first bunnies about 1 1/2 ago and since we are animal loving family we've been trying to do our best for them but it never feels enough.
My mum would never keep an animal in a small cage or hutch, she's just not the sort and would feel this is cruel.

So at first the 2 lovely bunnies, Thomas (Dutch) and Peanut (Lop) were allowed full run of the back garden at all times. Both neuterd as they reached 6 months so stayed the bestest of friends.

After several escapes and recaptures the inevitable happened and peanut never came home. Thomas was soooo miserable and lonely and was not allowed out of his hutch for long due to his great digging ability. He's such a naughty but very funny bunny we couldn't leave him alone so we got Lola (dark blonde lion head female, supermodel of the rabbit world)
Whilst we kept them in and waiting for Lola's neutering wounds to heal, we finally finished the trenches and had fully armed the edges of the garden with chicken wire. Once out and about and after a couple of fights eventually the 2 were inseparable but then the clan started to grow, Lucy (platinum lion head) needed rescuing from a small hutch she never left due to biting a small child in her past, almost the same time Flopsy (female lop) also needed a new home after all her family died and she was alone with her children owners grown up and not wanting her anymore. It took about 4 months to introduce the new duo and get them all to get along.