• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Novice needs help, please!

icklemunch

Young Bun
Betsy is my 3 year old Spayed free roam Mini-lop.
Yesterday we went on a date to Tameside rabbit rescue and met Barney neutered two weeks ago 1 year old mini-lop x.

He came home with us. I have no experience at this Bonding larky what so ever. Barney is currently living in Betsy's old cage in the living room till they are hopefully bonded so he can live free roam alongside Betsy.

The speed date at the rescue went well, ignored each other for a minute of two. Betsy was first to approach with a sniff of him bum. He did hump her a few times but nothing major. According to the lady at the rescue signs where good so Barney came home with us.

Left him to settle last night, there was quite abit of interaction through the bars. Sniffing etc but mostly ignored each other.
Barney came out this morning, Betsy again was first to approach. Barney tried to hump but pushed him off as the lady told me too. Then Betsy started to lunge at him then run off and hide. Really made me nervous she made a little noise too. Let this happen a few times before i got a little worried and put him back away. Betsy stayed hidden for 10 mims before coming out for her morning veg.

Is this good or bad?
Can anybody recommend any tips please. Really want this to work as he's lovely but wont have Betsy stressed etc in her own home.