• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Newly bonded bunnies - are we doing it right

ashbunny

Alpha Buck
Hi all, Ash has a new husbun :love: His name is Bailey and we brought him home on Saturday after the rescue bonded them both.

I've no experience with newly bonded bunnies so I'm not sure if we're doing everything right. The rescue said it was a very easy mix and only took a few days.
We have kept them in a smaller space than I would like at home because I've read that's the right thing to do? The space is about 5ft x 3ft. They get on OK in there sleeping together and snuggling up although I haven't seen them grooming each other. Bailey humps Ash sometimes but she doesn't seem to mind that much. We let them out in the lounge last night and I suppose as Ash is used to being in there all the time/that being 'her' territory she started chasing him and getting annoyed so we put them back in the smaller area. They generally do share food although Bailey normally ends up with Ash's leftovers. We have also put them in a run outside and they are fine out there too.

Does this sound ok? I was thinking of keeping them in the smaller area for a week or two then gradually making it larger so they have access to the whole of downstairs eventually (like Ash normally does)? Just hate keeping them in such a small space, I guess.

Rabbits don't always groom each other. Sometimes it's both grooming, sometimes it's a one way thing or sometimes neither groom.

I wouldn't let them run around again for a bit, also try to keep them in one area and not introduce another for a while too. I know they're in a small space but if you rush it then you could risk their bond not progressing and breaking down. Just remember, it's only temporary.