• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New Rescue Bunny

HanBun

New Kit
Hi so I'm new to rabbit ownership and have rescued my first bunny from a reputable shelter near me. Unfortunately had to be rehoused as a solo. I brought him home Sunday afternoon, put him straight in his x pen with everything all set up and left him to get settled. He's in my kitchen, not a high traffic area and I live alone no other pets. Only popped in to make cuppas and food and spoke to him so he gets used to the sound of my voice. He hid most of the night which I expected although he did take some kale from me when I offered.

He must been out and about during the night as stuff had been moved around. Was out for a bit this morning, but for the most past has still stayed pretty hidden in his hidey house, and looks quite scared. He's eating his hay, took him a while to eat his greens this morning, ate a bit, left it and then went back to them on and off till they were finished.

So we're about a day and a half together. I work from home, so spent a bit of time on the floor a little bit away from his cage today just to get him used to me being around. And again once I'd finished work and spoke to him whilst playing on my phone.
He's still hiding tonight between his hidey house and enclosed litterbox. I have read that rabbits take a while to trust, which I'm fine with. I'm just wondering how long is too long for him to keep hiding? Is there a point I should be concerned he's not going to settle? My plan for tomorrow is to work from the floor again, and open his pen door, with the kitchen door shut to give him some roaming time if he wants to come out. Is this too soon?