• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Do rabbits need Grass?

Bucks

Warren Scout
Maybe sounds like a daft question, I realise that it would be nice for the rabbits to play & lay about on a lawn, but do they actually need fresh grass to eat, I am asking as we don't have a lawn, we give them plenty of the excell fresh herbage & fresh forage, I know about not feeding them grass clippings (which is a pity as I cut lawns for a living)
I was thinking of maybe growing a bit of turf in a seed tray in they realy needed it.

Maybe sounds like a daft question, I realise that it would be nice for the rabbits to play & lay about on a lawn, but do they actually need fresh grass to eat, I am asking as we don't have a lawn, we give them plenty of the excell fresh herbage & fresh forage, I know about not feeding them grass clippings (which is a pity as I cut lawns for a living)
I was thinking of maybe growing a bit of turf in a seed tray in they realy needed it.

Great idea! I've got an old indoor cage base which I grow grass in. As long as they have plenty of hay they don't NEED grass, but it would be nice.

A good variety of hay is important enrichment for buns. I recommend this:

https://www.thehayexperts.co.uk/Hays,+Grasses+%2526+Herbs.4/Select+by+Hay+Type.130/Sample+Pack.23/

In my experience readigrass is the all time favourite! :D

Great idea! I've got an old indoor cage base which I grow grass in. As long as they have plenty of hay they don't NEED grass, but it would be nice.

https://www.thehayexperts.co.uk/Hays,+Grasses+%2526+Herbs.4/Select+by+Hay+Type.130/Sample+Pack.23/

My girls love Readigrass. I don't give it to them too often though as I believe it is quite high in calcium.