• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bonding How do I move a new pair from neutral area

rosaleen

Warren Scout
How do I move two newly bonding rabbits for, confined neutral space in bedroom to larger living room

Hi sorry I’d written a long explanation but it said I wasn’t logged in ……
So, I’m new to pair bonding, done lots of research on this forum and other links inc videos. Seen stress bonding,which I now know is wrong on three separate occasions so have seen the behaviour when this was done.
I’ll hVe a confined neutral space in my bedroom,. I live in a flat and don’t know how best to move them from there if they successfully bond to the living room as it’d the home and therefore territory of the older free range male.he isn’t used to being handled so though maybe coax him into his carrier to return him there but unsure about the young new rabbit

How long have they been together? If they are eating together and sitting close together, and they have been like this for a week or two, then it should be safe to put them in the other room. As the room was your male's territory then this will make it easier to put them in there rather than if it had been the female's. Is the other Rabbit a female and spayed?

Thanks so very much for your info on how their behaviour should develop and especially how long to keep them in the neutral area which I’d been unsure about.

Iwas getting ahead of myself with my question. I’m picking up the new rabbit Saturday am from a rescue centre. They had offered to do the bonding but were ok when said I’d do it. I feel fairly confident. I’ve bought a small animals playpen and a refill for my pet remedy calmer.