• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bonding a Nervous Rabbit

Ceecee

New Kit
I'm trying to bond our older, nervous female rabbit with a younger male rabbit and would welcome some advice as its my first time doing this. Both are neutered and rescue rabbits, so we aren't definite on age. G lost her sister 2 months ago and was struggling without her (little sleep, almost always alert), so we thought she'd like a friend to share her hutch thro' the dark nights & garden in the day.

The first week we left her in her hutch, but put them in adjacent runs for parts of the day on a neutral part of our garden where she doesn't go. She did go to the barrier and he groomed her, most the time she sat just out of his reach. Putting them together for short times, she seemed terrified and crouched in a corner. Similarly we did stress bonding where she got very stressed and he was totally laid back or grooming her. She started to chirp when he was grooming her, he wasn't trying to mount her at this time, and she started to pounce at him. He then took the hint and left her alone, but she began pouncing when he approached. This was in a small enclosed run. This concerned us and we were worried she may bite him (she hasn't bitten him at all). We found giving them more space in a run, gave her the chance to move away when she was unhappy rather than pounce & this worked well for a while, with them both grooming each other (mostly him).