• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Advice on 14 day old kits

Bugs&Beau

New Kit
Hi, I’m fairly new to owning rabbits and our 2 girls turned out to be a boy and girl, (the boy has now been neutered) we now have 6 baby rabbits, all seem to be doing well. They have started to come out of the nest and can’t get back in, so I’ll be removing the nest later and making them a bed in a corner of the hutch. They live outside in a double height hutch and run, now they are moving around, what do I do with them to keep them safe? Should I bring the babies and Mum into an indoor hutch to keep safe? Or keep all the rabbits including Mum and dad shut in the hutch so the babies can’t fall out into the run and get lost? Also one baby has its head tilted to the side, I will call the vet and ask about it later but wondered if anyone new much about it?
Thanks

Just a couple of things -
Mum may well be pregnant again. Rabbits can concieve straight after birth. Dad will have been fertile for several weeks after neutering. So be prepared for Litter 2.
Do they have space other than the hutch combo?
Mum will need neutering when the babies have stopped needing her. Females have a very high incidence of uterine cancer if they are left intact, plus her behaviour will be hormonally driven (ie grumpy).

Others on here will be able to give further advice on the babies, etc. Good luck.

Is Dad still with Mum ? If so she is very likely to be about to kindle a second litter. As Shimmer pointed out Bucks can remain fertile for 6-8 weeks AFTER castration.