• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Set up for bonding-opinions please!

AmberNikSee

Alpha Buck
We are going to be attempting to bond Hoss so we decided to set up his room but I'm not sure as I've never done this before! Does this look okay as a set up? I won't be bonding them in this set up but was hoping they could live in this set up side by side to get used to one another without actually being together

I plan on securing the door with zip ties once we actually have the other bun.
Thoughts?
TIA

Last edited:
Is this the room that he is currently in? I assume by the way you've set it up that you intend putting them side by side? You can introduce that way, but how they behave towards each other like that is likely to be very different than how they would be together. If this room is currently Hoss' territory then he will very likely be very hostile to a rabbit coming into it. And setting up the rabbits side by side will mean that they will both lay claim to their own territories. I've only done the one bond, 2 pairs into a quad, but I did it how most people seem to do it, in a small, neutral territory where none of the rabbits had ever been.

Good luck :thumb:

My girls lived side by side in their shared territory but we eventually set it up so they couldn't interact through the bars. I'd also maybe make the den private to the opposite side so they have somewhere private to get away and hide if they want.

In terms of bonding space I'm with the view of somewhere small & neutral. We used a large dog crate in our bedroom.

I don't think there is any one correct way of bonding!