• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

House Bunny ALWAYS CHEWING!

Hello! :wave:

Newbie here- first time poster. We've had our rabbit, Gerald, for 6 years. He's a Netherland dwarf cross. He's a house bunny and he has the run of our spare room. We'd love to give him the freedom of the house (our last rabbit, Bella, used to have free reign of downstairs) BUT he's a CHEWER. And I mean he chews everything. We've given him chew toys, blocks, everything we can think of to try and get him to break the habit. We've tried watching him like a hawk whilst he's downstairs but, to be honest, it's such a pain in the a*se to keep an eye on him constantly...plus, he's devious- it only takes a nanosecond for him to chew through a cable and we're worried in case he chews through something electrical and gives himself a fatal shock!

He gets fed plenty, if anything- he's a little bit chubby. He's been 'done', which we were told would sort the chewing issue (it didn't).

As I said, he has the run of our spare bedroom which we've chew-proofed as best we can, but the issue there is that he doesn't get as much company as we're downstairs in the evenings and he's upstairs on his own (or with the cat). I just get conscious that he's a bit lonely. We do sometimes have him on the sofa with us where we can keep an eye on him, but he gets bored and squirmy.

Has anyone else had this problem? How can we remedy this chewing?! Our last bunny never did this and could happily bounce around wherever she wanted!

How much hay does he eat? I find that if they have plenty of nice hay they tend to be busy most of the time eating that.