• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Cleaning

J&R

Mama Doe
Sorry if this is a dumb question but I am a bunny noob still :oops:

How often do you clean your buns house? My two are outdoor buns in a playhouse. In the morning I just sweep up poos from the floor and then in the afternoon I empty out their bed and trays completely and refill with fresh newspaper and hay. I end up throwing a lot of hay away every day and wondered if I'm being OTT with the cleaning?

I clean mine when they need it which is usually about once a week. But they are on soil which helps a lot. I think its better to clean more than necessary than not enough anyway, so if you think that they will need cleaning, you should. If you are throwing a lot of hay away, then you could reduce the amount you put in the tray which will help :thumb:

We change the litter tray and clean up anywhere else they've wet and take as much poo out as possible daily. We do a full clean every week or 2 weeks emptying out the whole hutch and wiping everything down.
I think it depends on how clean your buns are to a point.

Most of my rabbits need cleaning out every day. I think the biggest problem is the ammonia in the urine. It can damage the lining of their noses and give them snuffle type problems, which is not easy/impossible to cure.

I clean out the bedroom area (where they go to the bathroom) about once a week. Maybe a few days shorter then a week but usually about that. I would clean it out daily or something but the amount of hay and stuff I would go through, since they like to use the whole bedroom :roll:. The main area is usually good for 2 weeks. After that I like to put fresh bedding in.