• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New hutch dilemmas!!

Summer&Skye

Mama Doe
Hi everyone, I'm new :wave: I am hoping for some advice/ideas as to the best option for a new hutch and run for my 2 beautiful rabbits, Summer and Skye. I have been intending to replace their hutch for a couple of yrs but I can never decide what is the best option and am constantly going backwards and forwards on my decisions! They currently have a shabby double 4ft hutch within an approx 8ft x 12ft fenced enclosure which they have access to whenever I'm around and weather permits. However as I'm out at work all day, during the wk this is only in the evenings do I wanted to get them a larger hutch with a run attached that they can use whenever they want. My decision was the 6ft hutch with 6x4ft under run from pets at home (sorry using phone and don't know how to get links or pics in post!) and the idea was that when I'm there to supervise they can have full access to my large lawned garden and perhaps a separate safe grazing run when funds allow! But then I saw Molly's mansion on www.bitsforpets.co.uk and thought it looks much better, however, the run area on this is 6.5ft x 3ft, so seems bigger but is actually slightly smaller and the hutch area is only 3ft sq, but then do they need a 6ft long hutch or do they just need a 'den' area if they have permanent access to the run? I prefer the design of this and it fits better with my plan to house my guinea pig, George, next to the rabbits so they have runs where they can c eachother whilst still living separately.... But Molly's mansion, while a good price, is £50 more than the pets at home one so don't want to spend more and get it wrong!! I've also been looking at www.runaround.co.uk as iv always wanted to create some kind of burrow syste