• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New rabbits & multiple dogs

maggyottermad

Warren Scout
hi,

some of you may know i have new bunnies, 2 9wk olds.

they are in a lovely hutch in garden, in sheltered spot. but we have 5 gundogs, all very well trained ofcourse.

they have obviously smelt the rabbits prescense and have sniffed the hutch this morning, but im worried that its going to stress my bunnies out...

the dogs arent out alot, just usually 4pm-7pm in week they have free range, and weekend days

does anyone have experience with dogs & rabbits? any tips etc?

thank you, im being a bit over protective as im new to rabbits!

Hi,

My initial rabbit was introduced very slowly through her cage to my parents dog. She now has no fear and even bosses Meg (the dog) around. They play together and sleep next to each other.

They dont even see each other that often but they remember how to behave!

I am not sure if your dogs would hurt your rabbits but from my experience rabbits appear adaptable if done slowly?

The earlier introdutions are done the better in my opinion.

When I got Tila, we were very nervous about my ten year old Foxy, as she is a hunting breed. However we have taught her to never chase other animals (as we also have cats). We introduced her very slowly face to face after they got used to eachother through the bars (they share the yard). You will notice your bunnies may hide at first, but as they grow used to your dogs and their presence, they will venture closer and closer, until eventually they might be brave enough to touch noses through the bars. My guinea-pig was like that with my dogs, but Tila was comfortable with them quite quickly - he's a brave boy.