• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rabbit Handling

Bionic Bunny

Alpha Buck
I am a first year vet student and as part of my course I am doing an introduction to rabbit handling. The course guide gives us instructions on how to handle any rabbit. They state that you should lift the rabbit using the scruff of it's neck and then support it's behind with your other hand. Is this correct? I have been told by a number of people that this method is no longer used as it can injure the rabbit. How do people handle a strange rabbit for the first time? My only experience has been with my own rabbits.

Thank You

I think and don't quote me! But if you place one hand along it's back and one hand under it's bottom and lift it that way XX

alot of people think you can pick up a rabbit up by the scruff of the neck because 'thats what mum does to them' WRONG rabbits can't pick up there own babies so they have never been picked up by the scruff of the neck.

when i pick up mine i put one hand under the front arms and one hand under there bun and then bring them close to my chestleaving one hand under their bum so that they feel safe

I am glad you said that because when I mentioned it after the lecture everybody told me I was wrong. They also told me that rabbits only live till they are five. My rabbit is nine and healthier than ever! And these are the vets of the future!

hi

my girls have barely been handled, and if I picked them up in a nice way as stated above, they would eat me for breakfast :shock: I think the vet school way is designed to protect vet from being badly bitten, which of course would be a bit of a disaster for someone doing surgery several times a week :?