• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

taking 3week old rabbits to school

Hi everyone, I could really do with some advice please? I work as a teaching assistant in a local school and my rabbits recent had six kits. Teachers have asked if it would be possible to bring the newborns into a class for a short visit as it would be a great learning experience for the children. The class is on a topic learning about farms, the country and animals so it would be really good timing for the chilren to see them because some of the children haven't really seen animals besides cats or dogs!
I am not worried about transportation or the envirnment as the lesson would be set up to be a calm and quiet one because the children are well behaved and the kits won't be handled by anyone except myself. What I am worried about is their mother, Lily. Would it be alright to seperate her from, if not all, then some of her litter for approx two hours? Theywould be 3.5-4weeks old by then? Any help would be appreciated :)

Definitely not. They would be traumatised at leaving their Mom and nest area. Even when they are older it's not kind to take them amidst a lot of noisy children. Rabbits are prey animals and get very nervous and frightened easily. Sorry.

no please no.
I have two week old kits and they are not going anywhere the next 6 weeks

take pictures instead

Lily sometimes leaves them for hours on end though, they live in a big hutch in a big garden. They are happy and lille healthy kits who are used to children because we have two children in the house who love them. They wouldnt be taken amidst noisy children the class is a small sensible group of children who would take turns to see and ask questions about the rabbits?