• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Please help Beanbag and Jedi to become friends!

V1ck

New Kit
IMG_0404.jpg

IMG_0682.jpg

Hi everyone, I'm trying to bond two lovely rabbits. It's my first time and I'm really struggling... any help gratefully recieved.

Beanbag (top pic)is my gorgeous house rabbit - female, spayed, just over a year old. I thought it would be nice to get her a friend...
So I took Beans to the RSPCA to meet some of the males they had. It wasn't love at first sight with any of them, but she and Jedi basically ignored each other, and he is beautiful and needed a home, so we settled on Jedi. He's male, neutered. No idea of his age, he was just found 'wandering in woods' apparently:(

So I put them in separate enclosure/hutch in the living room, changed them over every day for a week. Left it a week, because Jedi seemed nervous and wasn't eating very much.

After a week I attempted the 48 hour bonding - car journey, in which they huddled together in the carrier, followed by me putting them in a disinfected large hutch (took the roof off etc so I could reach in). Big fight. Before I could stop it, Beanbag got her ear bitten and Jedi lost a chunk of fluff. :cry:

So, new plan. Jedi is outside in hutch/run on the patio, Beanbag is in the living room and free range on the patio. They can sniff through the mesh of his run. I've been introducing them 2 x 20 minutes a day in the bath, and there's some 'good' stuff - both have flopped over at different points, and nibbled hay - yesterday morning they even snuggled together. But they seen so scared! Lots of shaking. I feel I am putting them in a really stressful situation and I feel so guilty. But I thought it would be worth it.