• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Four bonded house bunnies a good idea?

tigerlilyb84

Young Bun
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to being a bunny owner, having begun with my beautiful Dexter who I found abandoned at the side of the road in February.

Since then, I have learnt what amazing pets rabbits can be. Dexter is a house bunny and lives in our large living room/dining room. We adopted Pippa as a companion for Dexter in May and they formed an amazing bond but sadly she died 6 weeks later of a lung tumour.

Dexter seems fine in himself but we'd like him to have a new companion as I feel he'd be even happier that way. We recentl went to a rescue centre and adopted a beautiful, gentle bun called Freddie. Then my friend asked me if we could take on her female Daisey as she can't give her the love or attention she needs anymore.

So, currently the plan is to begin bonding them as a trio next week (they are all currently single), but being a huge softy I saw a poor bun being advertised on facebook that I would also love to rehome as he's never fed hay or been to the vet and know I could give him a better home.

My issues/concerns
- are 4 rabbits too much to have in the house?
- can I afford the vet bills of bunny number 4
- am I insane? Lol

We have a large garden and a huge outdoor pen that we currently put Dexter out in whenever the weather is nice so they wouldn't have to be inside all of the time.

I think I'm a bit nervous about even having a trio, but I can't stop thinking about Thumper (bunny 4) and will feel guilty if I don't adopt him.