• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Can anyone post any tips on laying bases for sheds & runs - photos?

Ambience

Warren Veteran
I am new to this so i need to know how to do things quick easy and with the minimum tools as i'm no diy expert. The less to think about the better.

I believe i need sand, slabs of my choice, a spirit level - k that's as far as i've got.

I have slabs just sat in the garden doing nothing so i may as well create some shed bases and get some more accomdation up. I'm going to go for 6 x 4 sheds and i'm going to get some avairy doors - take off the existing and put these on.

Any advice at all would be appreciated.
Thanks
Ambience xx

I did the same as you and just made it up as I went along. I started in one corner putting a slab down then adding sand underneath in different corners until the spirit level showed it was level. Then I moved on to the slab next to it. Didn't do a great job, but the shed is still standing :)

I was lucky because the patio slabs I bought from Wickes were exactly the right size when laid in a grid of about 6 x 2, so check exactly what size the base needs to be and see if you can get some slabs that will fit exactly.

I laid a 10ft x 6ft base for my kennel all by myself I hasten to add. Hubby was still having a hissy fit about me bringing more bunnies home :lol: so I just got on with it, determined to 'show him' I didn't need his help!!!