• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Depressed?

MiniC

Wise Old Thumper
I posted a thread a couple of days ago, so I hope people don't mind one again so soon. I'm new to rabbit ownership, so probably doing that 'new parent' type of thing, where every cough is the sign of a deadly disease!

Anyway, today I'm a bit worried our Billy might be depressed. He hasn't left his hiding place much for the last few days, he is eating less (about half of what he used to). Last week, if I put a puzzle or toy in for him, he'd be on it the instant our backs were turned, but he's not touched any for 3 days now (or if he has, he's given up pretty fast). We're still trying to gain his trust, and haven't been able to stroke him yet, so I can't tell whether he's interacting less. I don't know how to get him happier again - can anyone help?

It's all the more difficult as he's still getting used to us, so anything we do needs to be a bit hands off.

Hello, he may be poorly if he's off his food. One thing I've learnt is that even when rabbits don't want to interact / play they still love to eat. If there's a problem with his teeth then this would reduce the amount that he eats, but might also mean that he's in pain which could explain the change in his behaviour.
Is he still pooping?
I think you should get him checked out by a vet.

Hi Sara, thanks for the advice. He's still pooping, so that's something. Teeth might make some sense, he's not taking as much hay as I think he should. I worry about taking him out if it's nothing - we'd have to take the top off his safe space, and he won't like being touched...