• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Newbie Bunny Mummy

MadHatter

New Kit
Hi all,

I am new to owning bunnies and have tried do the very best that I can after reading on forums but still have a few questions and rather than posting all over the place I was hoping to get some advice all in one spot (please be gentle!)

So...the bunnies are 11 week old mini lops, both boys. They are litter trained, very different in size and temperament but will happily groom each other and frequently binky. They have a 5ft hutch with a run and ramp which I leave open. No foxes here but there are a couple of cats so they have full run of the garden only when supervised by myself or husband. We have 4 children of varying ages although I am the primary carer/cleaner, they get handled a lot but I balance this out with lots of time spent exploring and chilling in the bushes (the rabbits, not me :D )

Anyway, my questions are:

1) is this big enough? They have full garden access every single day aswell

2) One is very friendly and approachable, I can pick him up to put him back in the hutch no problem but the other, whilst being fine when held, will run a mile when anyone goes near him. I assume this is because he knows he's being put back in the hutch! I can't leave them out all day and at the moment I dread the time when they have to go back in because I spend 20 minutes finding him, coaxing him out (to no avail) and finally having to wade into spider infested bushes to retrieve him. Any tips/ideas?