• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help with Housing size

blueday56

New Kit
Hi Guys,

I am a veterinary student in London, and currently doing a project on the size of hutches sold in pet shops and whether or not they are adequate for most common pet rabbits.

However, as part of this I need to know the average height/length of various breeds of rabbits such as dwarf lops and the cross breeds sold in pet shops, and I am struggling to find rabbits in my area to get this information off.

If possible, could any of you tell me:

The breed and age of your pet rabbit(s)
The length of your rabbit(s) if they are lying fully stretched out (with their back legs stretched out behind them). From the tip of their front legs to tip of their hind legs.
It would also be great if I could get their approximate weight as well.

Thanks very much for any help you can give me, it is much appreciated.

Hey :)

Biscuit is just over 1 ft 4 inches whilst totally flat out.

He is a mini-lop, 7 months old, and weighs in at 1.8Kg at last weigh in (which was over 3 months ago...

I'll get kicked if I try to measure them when they're relaxing but I have a rough idea for Smudge.

He's a lion-lop and is 1 year old. When stretched right out he is at least 2 foot long. I know this because when he lays next to a 2.5 foot long pen panel he almost goes the whole length of it. Oh and he's about 1.8kg.

haha. love the idea of trying to sneak up and measure mine without them noticing....will give it a try tonight!
esupi

Thistle is four foot long at full stretch. :shock: He's a continental giant, last time he was weighed he was 6.66kg (double :shock:... :lol:) but that was quite some time ago and he's definately heavier now. At a rough guess I'd say he's probably a little over 7kg's.