• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New Bunny Owner!

ScutterBug

Young Bun
Ok, well maybe not just yet!

Im looking to adopt my first bun in the next few weeks - I work in a fairly well known pet store so will hopefully be getting the hutch from work (We stock the Trixie hutches?) but i am totally new to this so am looking for all the advice i can get!

Ive had a read on here at some of the current threads and theyve been fantastic, but Im just wanting to clear something up!

I was told that it was too cold to have outdoor rabbits now as theyre not used to cold temps outside. A friend of mine said they would be fine to come inside at night to sleep in a pet carrier? (like this...)
http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?i...E-SearchBox&rlz=1I7GFRE_en&sa=N&start=54&um=1

Am i right in thinking the large dog size would be too small even for a baby bun?

I have my own horse too so am wondering if her hay would be suitable? She is on a hemp bedding (Aubiose) so would use a bag of that as and when for bedding too?

Sorry if none of this makes any sense!
x

Hi and welcome!

It's great that you have decided to adopt a bunny, they are wonderful companions! Sorry it's taken a while for anyone to respond, this is a fast moving forum, so it's easy for posts to disappear off the page sometimes! :D

Your friend may have gotten a little confused about indoor/outdoor bunnies during the colder seasons. Rabbits naturally develop a winter coat as the weather gets colder, but if the bunny has been living indoors up untill now, they havent been exposed to the decreasing temperatures, so havent grown their winter coat. Putting an indoor bun out now, would be like you going out in shorts and t-shirt now! :shock: