• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

What size run for 3 rabbits?

It would probably be adequate, personally I think they need a bit more width than 4ft so that they can jump around easier, but the overall space is good.

I definitely think it's a good enough size, but if you could squeeze an 8x6 that would probably be even better :)

I think the larger the better, would say 8ftx8ft minimum myself.
No formula for that, just personal preference.

I'm in the process of adopting a pair of Lionheads from a rescue centre, and for the pair I've been told a minimum of 10 x 6ft is expected if that helps.

http://www.rabbitresidence.org.uk/

She's told me the above sized run, and a 6x2x2ft hutch for the pair. I'm fairly new to all this (not kept a rabbit rabbit in 7 or 8 years, and was blissfully ignorant back then) but I'm well aware that the advice and minimum sizes given by pet shops etc aren't always accurate. So if thats the size she expects I'm more than happy to go along with that.

The only issue is finding a run that big...I'm going to have to build it (or pay an extortionate amount.)

Just thought I'd add that I've just bought the materials I need for the 10x6x2ft run. The total for the materials (38m of treated 2x1" timber, 1" square hole sized 16 gauge mesh - 13.5 m2 total, pet safe varnish) comes to £77.00. I'll probably have to spend another £10 on miscellaneous bits and bob's for it - such as eyes for the lid, tent pegs to secure it and maybe another few quid for a groundsheet to provide shade, but considering a 7x4ft run is £150 from happy hutch (fairly typical pricing from what I've seen) I'd say its the way ahead.