• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

My bonding experience - excessive humping

dollyanna

Alpha Buck
Hi! 1 week in to my first bonding experience, with my first rabbits, and we seem to be coming out the other side so I thought I would share my experiences in case it helps someone else in the future the way that reading other people's experiences has helped me so much. Please be kind if you comment, I am new to rabbits but experienced with animals and work on close observation to understand them as individuals, I am well aware of the things we have done that are not how it would be advised but at each step I have watched carefully and listened to my animals.
My rabbits - Odin, approx 18 month old male, rescue but with limited history. He has been well loved but info on vaccs and neutering is unknown. My vet gave him a thorough examination and is pretty confident he has no testicles, but it is a little ambiguous as he does still have scrotal contents at times. He lived with a guinea pig but that was taken away when he was put into rescue due to policy, so he went from home with friend, to middle of petshop (PAH rescue) alone, to our place alone, to having a friend, all in a couple of months. He is a real sweetheart though, very friendly and chatty, but just seemed lonely a few weeks after we got him so I looked for a suitable friend.
Freja - 6 month old doe, rehomed from showing home due to lack of shows this year.
Both continental giants. I'll try and keep this brief - not my forte!