Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rebonding 2 rabbits after a fight

Default Rebonding 2 rabbits after a fight

Hi everyone, our male rabbits were neutered about 5 weeks ago. A week after they had a substantial fight which resulted in a visit to the vets because of a scratched eye. We separated them as soon as it happened and they have been separated ever since, but have been able to sniff /see each other due to the baby gate we have put up. I want to try and rebond them gradually, which I know will be a slow process, but wondered if anyone had any tips? I was going to try this evening in a neutral territory and see how they get on initially. They had such a lovely bond before, even the morning of the fight they were grooming eachother and would always lie with eachother. Any tips would be gratefully received! Thank you

I am not an expert, but a beginner and hope you will get better advice from more experienced users. But my two bucks were neutered last Tuesday, and I was told to keep them separated for at least 6 weeks until all hormones have settled before trying to re-bond them. They grew up together, they live now in a room that is split in two halves and always lay down at the fence for being near each other and I feel utterly tempted to allow them together. But I won't. I was told if they fight, it is a bad start for re-bonding them, so I will be patient.

Good luck for your two boys!

Sounds like you were given the right advice, we weren't told to separate them after the neutering and I wish I'd looked more in to it so I could have prevented the fight! I am also a beginner but would definitely suggest keeping them separate for the suggested amount of time - ours were getting on so well as normal and the fight happened so suddenly out of nowhere

Firstly, good luck!