• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Adopting 3 year old bun - new to rabbits

Elieb

New Kit
Hi! I’m new to rabbits. I’ve had rats and lots of other animals (cats, dogs, chickens, ducks, etc) and I’ve cared for rabbits, but never had my own. I’ve been slowly acquiring things to get my first bunny, and now a local is rehoming their 3yo lop. She is 3, not spayed, and the owner says, isn’t very friendly, but isn’t mean. Just tolerates people.

I don’t know a ton about rabbit behavior. I would prefer a bunny who I already know the temperament of as opposed to a young rabbit who could develop into anything. But I know her personality could also change after she’s spayed too, right? Does spaying typically make them more friendly or could it be anything?

Also, could she become more friendly in a home with lots of TLC and time and attention? Or are rabbits personalities pretty set? I’m not sure if they’re dependent on environment or set as they age.

In short, there aren’t good rabbit options around here. Just pet and feed stores. I’d much rather give a rabbit a home who needs it. But I also don’t want a standoffish bun who doesn’t like people. What are my options?

Her temperament could improve after she has been spayed, but she may never really want much human company. All of my rabbits apart from my current bunny Frosty, and my bridge house bunny, Boots have been pretty indifferent to humans and were happier doing their own thing. If she is an outside rabbit she will really need the company of another rabbit, and if her temperament remains the same, she will also need another rabbit to keep her company if she is indoors.