Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Has anyone experience of a rabbit with a blood glucose reading of as low as 1.5?

Default Has anyone experience of a rabbit with a blood glucose reading of as low as 1.5?

I'd be grateful for any input or insight as to diagnosis/diagnostics/prognosis/outcome etc.

Vet (not rabbit savvy and rather useless) gave an extremely poor prognosis, which I accepted at the time but I'm now questioning. I'm just gathering information before coming up with another plan.

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Bunny Buddy; 13-05-2018 at 09:13 PM.
    My heart is in a thousand pieces for my soulmate stopped running today (22.05.13)

Sorry to hear you've a sick bunny BB. I've no experience to impart but I'd be erring on trusting your instinct over a useless vet. I honestly just thought really low blood glucose was severe anorexia & would have assumed if you could get bunny eating again prognosis (based on BG alone) would be better. Lots of vibes for bunny & you x

Thanks. I'm wondering too about that being the cause. I'm wondering about doing a blood glucose myself if I can get to Lloyds for a monitor (the one I have has strips about 2 years our of date). I've never managed it before but knowing the reading would mean a lot to me. Plan B is to get S to check on Monday.
    My heart is in a thousand pieces for my soulmate stopped running today (22.05.13)

I am really sorry that you have yet more worries BB

I have heard of hypoglycaemia in cases of Insulinomas. These are not at all common in Rabbits but they are in Ferrets apparently

https://en.wikivet.net/Insulinoma

http://forums.rabbitrehome.org.uk/sh...ght=insulinoma

https://books.google.co.uk/books?id=...rabbit&f=false

A Rabbit Savvy small animal Veterinary Surgery in Twickenham, SW London
    https://www.twickenhamvets.com/

Thanks Jane. Will read more thoroughly later but the thread Marie Kubiak posted on makes me feel more positive. My girl is too precious just to give up on.