Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tips for giving medication

Default Tips for giving medication

Over the weekend one of my rabbits lost his appetite and his poo output reduced. So I took him to the vets and they kept him (and his bonded partner in). They gave him MELOXAID pain relief, EMEPRID gut motility and ZANTAC anti acid. His output is better and he is eating on his own, so this evening they have discharged him.

However I now need to continue the drugs regime for the next 5 days. I've never done this before, he doesn't like being handled (although tolerates nose/ head rubs). If you have any tips that can help me reduce any stress for my bun when I'm administering the meds I'd be very grateful.

I've looked at You Tube and also tried to find previous posts and have learnt
    1. to prepare the syringes in advance so I'm ready to administer
    2. some buns will take meds on weetabix/ shredded wheat

If anyone has any tips please post

Thanks

I draw meds up, the draw up some Ellas Kitchen baby food and they willingly take it from the syringe. (If eating by themselves). Makes life a lot easier.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

I do the bunny burrito technique, not always very successfully! I usually get most of it in though I think. It's not easy on your own, do you have a helper?

Thank you. I have a helper tonight but he goes away with work tomorrow. We managed to get 2 out of the 3 meds but that took 45 minutes, I got a bit tearful as I was concerned that bun was getting too stressed. So we took him to the vets and they did it in less than 2 minutes.

He's now home grooming fastidiously around his chin (I'm assuming to get any spilled meds off).

I tried bunny burrito on my own but didn't manage at all. That's a good idea about Ella's food. I'll try that tomorrow.

Thanks again x

I take my tricky buns into an unfamiliar room and use this technique.
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=...&v=qfROVhKTMxI