• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bunny's weeing

BunnyMajor

New Kit
Hi, I've had my 2 unneutered buck brothers for 29 days now, and I've owned rabbits before so I have plenty of experience, but I've never dealt with this so far. To get to the point, the boys are weeing everywhere. I know this is a natural behaviour for them because they're not neutered and I believe it's called "spraying", all bucks we've owned before have been adopted, so were already neutered or were neutered a couple of days afterwards. So - not thinking I'm stupid - I booked them into the vet for a neuter as soon as possible. After dealing with a recent loss during a spay operation (a really bad veterinary practice!), I only ever go to the vets that have experienced with rabbits in particular, so they're being neutered at this vet... in 2 weeks time.

Yes, the vets were fully booked all of November so I have to wait until the 5th of December! The boys are 7 months old now.

I spot clean the room every single day (they're in my bedroom), but today I really saw the full extent of damage they'd done with their "spraying" - wallpaper wrecked, protective blankets wrecked (protect the sofa and floor), drawers are wrecked, the sofa, the cushions... need I go on?

I know this probably sounds like I'm fairly fed up - which I kind of am - I do love them to bits, but what should I do? They have a 100cm cage they are put in overnight - so I can't possibly keep them in that until their operation. Any ideas???

They're lionhead rabbits and so have stopped growing - they are tiny.

Hi, welcome to the forum :wave:

I'm sorry you lost a rabbit whilst in for a spay :cry: