• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rabbit won't eat hay?

SophieMayK

New Kit
Hello,
I have a 9 week old mini lop, it is my first time having a pet rabbit. I give my rabbit a fresh pile of hay, an egg cup of pellets and an egg cup of dried food a day. (I'm unsure how much dry food I should give it). I noticed it wasn't really touching its hay so I bought a more expensive brand which was dandelion flavored (he likes those) in hoping he would eat more. He still doesn't seem interested in hay and pigs all his dry food quite quick. His downstairs sits on grass which is he doesn't really eat much but when I put him out in his run he'll eat grass all day. He started getting diarrhea and i assumed it was the grass so I put hay and newspaper in his run but he completely ignores it and eats the grass. I don't want to keep him in his smaller run all day just to stop him eating the grass. He'd rather eat the newspaper that I put in his bedding area as well as the wood chip shaving. I think the pet shop must have just bought him up on dry food, I don't really know what to do so any suggestions would be great.
Thanks

The important thing with a young rabbit is to feed what they are used to, and then gradually change, even if it was a bad diet to start with. If you aren't sure what the shop feeds, give them a call and ask. If it turns out it was mostly dry food, then feed a bit more of that for now to make sure he's eating enough. I take it the dry food they were giving was a mix? If so you can start mixing pellets in slowly - gradually swap from one to the other by increasing the pellets and decreasing the mix. Do it over around a two week period - a few more pellets and a little less mix each day.