• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bonding a 2 yr old French Lop...is it too late?

Mel_uk

New Kit
Hi, I am new to these rabbit forums but not entirely new to the world of rabbits. I am however, new to the giant french lop varieties!

Last Wednesday we adopted our beautiful boy Bobby, a 2 year old giant french lop rabbit who was in need of a home. He has settled in wonderfully as a house rabbit and is a happy and very loving rabbit and very soppy with people! My partner and I have read a lot about the benefits of rabbits living as pairs and are contemplating as to whether our Bobby would be even happier with a partner too? We would not mind becoming second best to another rabbit, we want to do the best for Bobby as priority.

Firstly we are intending on having him neutured this week, (however although not being an expert I really think he has been neutered already! I am aware this may sound silly as it ought to be more than obvious! But the place we had him from told us he had not been done which has left me doubting and wanting a second opinion!!) I am aware we would need to wait at least 3 months before introducing a female if he does need neuturing, but I am more concerned as to whether he is too old to bond successfully when the time is ready? I am guessing it is not completely impossible to do, but would the odds be more against them bonding well with him being 2 yrs?