• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New here, need advice on stubborn bunnies

This is my first time owning rabbits, and posting on this forum, so bear with me!

I have two lovely Dwarf Lop and Netherland dwarf cross rabbits, we keep their hutch in the garage, and in the mornings before we go to work we bring them inside for a couple of hours, to run around and feed them, and then the same in the evening. Our girl rabbit runs straight into her pet carrier (we take the top bit of the carrier off and the cage front bit off, line it with newspaper and hay) but our boy rabbit doesn't seem to want to get in. We've tried everything to get him in he just won't listen. A couple of times I've just picked him up and put him in and he has been fine, but he doesn't really like being picked up, and I don't want to force him out.

This morning the same thing happened again, she jumped straight in and started licking my hands (so cute) but he just kinda sat there looking at me, I called his name for a bit, and tried to lure him in with a raisin, but no joy. The times when I have just picked him up and brought him in, he's been so happy when he has got in, running around, hopping, rolling on the floor, so I know he is happy. I'm just confused, he doesn't necessarily liked being picked up, and I don't want to invade his space by just grabbing him, if he doesn't want to.

They've never been separated, as we got them from a girl my boyfriend works with, and they were the two rabbits that were inseparable. So I don't want to bring her inside for a run around and breakfast if he isn't with her.

Any advice on how to make the transition easier for him?

Thanks in advance. xxx