• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Naughty bunny!

Amy1982

New Kit
Hi all,
I'm new to all this.
My bunny is 12 weeks old, had her for 4 weeks. She lives inside, caged at night.
She is proving very hard to toilet train, and has learnt to jump on her cage, onto my sons bed and is doing her toilets on his bed!!! Help really needed as she is weeing on it and I can do without changing it everyday!
Any advice would be great, caging her all day is not an option as I've never done it!

It does sound hormonal, so will settle down with spaying... But she is too young to be spayed just yet.

In the meantime what do you have as a litter tray? Buns like to eat on the loo so lots of hay normally encourages peeing. Plus put some poops and wee where you want her to go so that she associates it with the smell.

Another idea is that a lot of buns like to pee on soft furnishings :roll: sometimes covering the bed with something not so soft, say like a plasticky shower curtain is enough to discourage them. Plus even if it doesn't discourage her at least it should protect the bed.

Once she is confident using her litter tray then you can probably stop with the shower curtain, she just needs to get into a different habit!

She has not been spayed yet. I've tried making a toilet area as her cage is closed during day so I can get her back in at night. She runs round house and poo just falls out of her! The shower curtain idea is a brill idea and I will try it, but even the vet is surprised she jus goes to toilet anywhere!! Thx guys!!