• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Confused Newbie here

VALM

Young Bun
:wave: Hello - As the title says I'm new to your forums. We have recently bought two Netherland dwarves for my daughter who's 9. We have a buck and a doe (Cody and Petal aged 11 and 12 weeks respectively) however I'm confused about spaying Petal. The breeder from whom we bought the rabbits said we could have Petal spayed immediately but when I rang a vet to arrange this they said she had to be at least 5 months old and I note in your FAQs section that you concur with this however I thought she is classed as an adult at 4 months and can reproduce at that age! Should we be separating our rabbits?

Also, we've noticed that they get on very well in the hutch together however when we let them into the house they sometimes run at each other, but heads, nip and jump on each other. Why do they do this?

Sorry if I sound really dim but have never owned a rabbit before. Thanks in advance.

Hi :wave: I'm not able to help with your question but wanted to welcome to the forum. I'm new this week as well x

:wave: Hello. I joined this week too.

We've got a boy and a girl too, they were kept apart until both were 'done'. Didn't wanted any unwanted baby buns! :D

As for the odd behaviour indoors, all I know is that girls can be terrotorial, so you might want to try bringing the boy in first, might help! :)

Hello:wave: Its your buck that will need to be neutered, as soon as his bits have dropped. (anytime from now)
You can take him to your vet and they can check if his "man plums" :oops: have descended. He needs to be done asap otherwise your buns will need to be separated to avoid any accidental litters.