• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

First bunny... Netherland dwarf

Gingypig

Alpha Buck
Hello

I'm new to rabbits and am thinking of getting a Netherland dwarf.

I have loads of guinea pigs (18!) and i am fully aware of the separate needs of each. I just have some questions which i was hoping you guys could help me with....

I have a 6ft x 2ft hutch, is this ok for a nethie and possibly a friend for him in due course? I am thinking they can have the run of the patio also. and the garden when i'm in.

Feeding greens? is it true bunnies under 6 months should not have greens, this seems odd as they would live on grass etc in the wild???

Neutering a boy bunny... how old?

Umm can't think of any more questions but i'm sure i will

Thank you xxx

the hutch size sounds great :thumb: and the run of the patio is also a good idea as the contcrete can help keep their nails from overgrowing although their nails will still need regular checks ;).

cant help with the greens as ive actually fed all my buns under 6 months greens before i even heard it was bad for them although im not sure if its a myth or not :? and my buns have been fine :?

a male can be neutered as soon as his plums have dropped :D a female will all depend on your vet really girls can be spayed from as young as 12 weeks but theres some vets who prefere to wait until their 6 months old.

if you have any more questions dont hesitate to ask :D

:wave: Hiya fancy seeing you on here ;) I'm sure you'll find all the information you need on here for bunnies.