• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

why are people so thick???

kat_g

Warren Scout
hi, this is my first post on here and im sorry to say its a rant! Just finished work (im a nurse at vets) and we finished they day with a young woman bringing her rabbit in 'cos its bum didnt look right'. It turned out that its back end was literally rotting away! It was absoloutley revolting and when i saw it i was disgusted! Unfortunately (although unsurprisingly) the rabbit had to be put to sleep. After doing this we had a closer inspection (didnt want to do it when bun was awake due to the pain it would have been in) and it really was awful. I looked at its teeth and they were so overgrown that i wonder how it managed to eat! They were curled round in the rabbits mouth! So basically my rant is to ask are people REALLY that thick and stupid or just ignorant to their rabbit's needs. I just cannot understand how someone could leave their rabbit in such appalling conditions. its so upsetting to see them like that. The young woman was crying and you honestly feel like giving them a wake up call and telling them its all their fault cos they've neglected their pet. Is it just me being harsh or do any of you feel this way? Me and the vet both said it was a welfare issue really - just wish more could be done.
Rant over and i feel better for it!

Poor bunny!

No, I totally agree with you! Many people are really ignorant about animals, particularly rabbits. It's a real shame because they will never realise what amazing creatures they are.

What kills me is people who buy rabbits without even reading a book or website on them first, then they go to P@H, get rubbish 'advice' and when you try to correct them, they won't listen. Grrrr!