• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Newbie, setting up the hutch

Hi All,

Im a newbie, picking up my first ever bun in a couple of weeks. I have the hutch and ive bought the non perishable bits, but what i keep getting confused about is how exactly to set up the hutch.

A friend who used to keep a rabbit when she was young said newspaper on the bottom then straw? oh i dont know

Could you experienced lot help me out.

HOW DO I SET UP THE HUTCH?

thanks guys:wave:

Welcome :wave:

A lot of it really is up to personally choice and often the rabbits choice! Some people line the hutches with lino, some use vet bed (but mine destroy it!), some people use newspaper but can be unsafe it rabbits eat it because of the ink, you can use hay or straw. I line my cage with rubber matting with straw on top.

I use cat wood litter pellets in my litter tray which soaks up their wee really well.

I'm sure people can post some piccies which can be useful.

Best wishes
Lian

:wave: and welcome.

I have a double hutch, and have newspaper with straw and shredded paper upstairs and then just their litter tray downstairs.

I know some people use woodshavings, but they can be quite dusty, and also I have lionheads and shavings would be forever stuck in their fur, so I use just straw. You could also use meadow hay as bedding, but make sure there is fresh hay aswell for them to eat.

Rabbits are amazing little creatures and I am sure you will be a great owner!

What type of hutch have you gone for?