PDA

View Full Version : Two bunnies - what size house?



Ozzy'sMummy
21-04-2007, 02:54 AM
I was wondering, if you were to rehome a rabbit from the RSPCA to be housed with another bunny, if the housing isn't 6x2x2 will it be allowed? :(

Ozzy's house isn't that but I have just seen this beauty:

http://www.rabbitrehome.org.uk/moreinfo.asp?RabID=6877

I don't think I'll be allowed another bunny from any rescue with Ozzy's house :(

XxX

Ozzy'sMummy
21-04-2007, 03:27 AM
By the way I have Loppy's Loft from Pets at Home which he is allowed in all the time and then when I am in the garden he is allowed to play out free range (fully secure fence etc).

Spacegirl
21-04-2007, 03:56 AM
How big is his current accomodation?

BirdieBun
21-04-2007, 05:02 AM
if that is the size the rspca require i would say no as you have to think its great to have lots of buns but is it fair on them if their accommodation isnt sufficiently sized? :)

does Ozzy have free range time? How often is he in his hutch? :)

Ozzy'sMummy
21-04-2007, 05:37 AM
Hutch: w132 x h55 x d77cm Run: w132 x h50 x d139cm

Those are the dimensions^^

He is in the hutch and run combo all day apart from when he is allowed at least 2 hours free range play with at least me out there and normally my brother aswell.

I just know the new guidelines for two bunnies are 6x2x2 aren't they?

XxX

sillyrabbit
21-04-2007, 07:05 AM
I didnt rescue Beau from the RSPCA but the rescue that I got him from said the minimum hutch they would rehome to was 6ft x 2ft x 2ft with an attached run :D x

vick
21-04-2007, 09:27 AM
I will be looking for two bunnies to rehome soon and was going to buy this cage from zooplus:

http://www.zooplus.co.uk/shop/rodents/cages/rabbit_cage/42416

The cage is 140 cm x 71 cm x 48 cm.
Is this too small under the new guidelines?
Where can I find a bigger cage?

They would have the run of the house whenever we are at home.

Spacegirl
21-04-2007, 11:49 AM
I would say you'd be better off with a dog crate and then you can attatch a pen if you need to have them shut in during the day.
The zooplus cage isn't really big enough if they are going to be shut in.
Dog crate would be cheaper too :D

Tamsin
21-04-2007, 01:27 PM
You'd need to ask the individual centre you want to adopt from. Most of the RSPCA's are branches and can set their own rules for requirements when you adopt. What they want from a set up can vary. I'd give them a call/email and describe your setup and see if they would be okay with it :)

Tam