• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Cleaning indoor rabbit cage

Muppet2

Alpha Buck
It's my first time with one of these (a giant 'hamster' cage type). And bear in mind he's mostly litter trained so not much weeing outside the litter tray any more.

Daily - scoop out dirty litter (he uses the same corner) and top-up with fresh. (And any same with any soiled sawdust in main cage that needs removing.)

Weekly - completely empty and wash litter tray. Top up sawdust in main cage with fresh sawdust.

Fortnightly - empty all sawdust out, brush down cage and replace with fresh sawdust.

Monthly - empty all sawdust out, wash cage with hot water and splish of biological washing up liquid, dry properly, wipe down with cage cleaner, dry properly, put everything back.

Is this the right balance of clean/not too clean for comfort? Maybe I should have washed the cage sooner but it didnt seem that dirty or smell (as far as I can tell...)

When I used one I washed it weekly but she wasn't spayed and her wee did smell. Have you tried a corner litter tray in the corner he goes in? It might make cleaning it out a bit easier

Oh yeah - he has a corner litter tray and he wees in the same corner of THAT every time. (With the occasional miss! It's a bit small I think, even tho he's only small himself.)

That's why I dont think the cage itself needs cleaning all that much but then I'm new to rabbit hygiene so I'm checking.

(He's not yet neutered. Am getting the vaccinations out of the way first (second one on Weds) and neutering is next on the list for about a fortnight's time. But dont tell him :wink: )

I can't actually smell, so maybe I'm a bit paranoid...