• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Osteoporosis in rabbits - really common?

I think it is when they are kept in a small hutch all the time and so don't get enough exercise - as are other skeletal and muscle problems. I'm no expert but my vet has said similar.

AMETHYST

I believe so...

Often manifests itself in teeth/jaw problems, but an improved diet and more exercise can halt it.

One of mine was diagnosed with it about 2 years ago, but I can honestly say she is no worse now than she was 2 years ago (She is about 5-ish now).

I wonder if it is more common in spayed females?

Amy

This other piece of wisdom too:
Myxomatosis is still common in wild rabbits and can be transmitted on foliage to domestic pets.

Only if mosquitoes/fleas happen to be sitting on foliage and don't fly off or you pick up foliage covered in dead rabbit blood and quickly force your rabbit to eat it before the virus dies. I didn't think it was transmissible through contamination by faeces.

Also as Burgess are sponsering the only food and hay recommended is by Burgess :? :

30% of rabbits in the UK are obese, probably due to their relative sedentary life as domestic pets, compared to their life in the wild. If you believe your rabbit is overweight speak to your vet or call the National Rabbit Week helpline on 0800 413 969 and they will be able to recommend a lower calorie food, which will still provide your pet with all the correct nutrients. Supa Rabbit Excel Lite is ideal for overweight rabbits as it has a higher fibre content, to make sure your rabbit feels full whilst consuming fewer calories.